Default Groups and Permissions

Permission levels work together with SharePoint groups. A SharePoint group is a set of users who all have the same permission level.

The way this works is that you put related permissions together into a permission level. Then you assign that permission level to a SharePoint group.

By default, each kind of SharePoint site includes certain SharePoint groups. For example, a Team Site automatically includes the Owners, Members, and Visitors group. A Publishing Portal site includes those groups and several more, such as Approvers, Designers, Hierarchy Managers, and so on. When you create a site, SharePoint automatically creates a pre-defined set of SharePoint groups for that site. In addition, a SharePoint admin can define custom groups and permission levels.

To learn more about SharePoint groups, see Understanding SharePoint groups:

The SharePoint groups and permission levels that are included by default in your site may differ, depending on:

The following table describes the default permission levels and associated permissions for three standard groups: Visitors, Members, and Owners.


Permission level


Read    This level includes these permissions:

  • Open
  • View Items, Versions, pages, and Application pages
  • Browse User Information
  • Create Alerts
  • Use Self-Service Site Creation
  • Use Remote Interfaces
  • Use Client Integration Features


Edit    This level includes all permissions in Read, plus:

  • View, add, update and delete Items
  • Add, Edit and Delete Lists
  • Delete Versions
  • Browse Directories
  • Edit Personal User Information
  • Manage Personal Views
  • Add , Update, or Remove Personal Web Parts


Full Control     This level includes all available SharePoint permissions.